New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws | Medical Marijuana Help

New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws

New Hampshire residents can look forward to a medical marijuana registration system in the near future. On July 23rd, 2013, Governor Maggie Hassan signed HB 573* (RSA 126-X) into law, which allows for the development of a medical cannabis registry system. It is called the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Program* and is still in it’s early stages of development. The law does not allow patients or caregivers to cultivate marijuana, so New Hampshire is currently creating a dispensary system for medical cannabis. Unfortunately, the state is not accepting patient or caregiver applications at this time. They are, however, working with newly approved Alternative Treatment Centers. Once the Alternative Treatment Centers are operational, the state will begin accepting patient and caregiver applications.  The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services expects to open patient registration in early 2016.

The following conditions have been approved for medical cannabis treatment: Cancer, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, ALS, Muscular Dystrophy, Crohn’s Disease, Alzheimer’s, Multiple Sclerosis, Chronic Pancreatitis, Spinal Cord Injury or Disease, or Traumatic Brain Injury. The law also allows cannabis use for any condition or treatment that produces one or more of the following symptoms: Elevated Intraocular Pressure, Cachexia, Chemotherapy Induced Anorexia, Wasting Syndrome, Severe Pain, Severe Nausea, Moderate to Severe Vomiting, Seizures, or Severe and Persistent Muscle Spasms.

In New Hampshire, unlawful personal use or possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana with intent to distribute is a felony punishable by up to 3 years imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $25,000. Possession of more than one ounce but less than 5lbs of marijuana with intent to distribute is a felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison and fines of up to $100,000. Possession of more then 5lbs of cannabis with intent to distribute is a felony worth up to 20 years imprisonment and fines up to $300,000. Registered medical marijuana patients will be lawfully permitted to carry up to 2 ounces of cannabis. Read Medical Use of Marijuana Chapter 453A* for more information.

  •    QUALIFYING CONDITIONSALS
    Alzheimer’s disease
    Cachexia
    Cancer
    Chemotherapy induced anorexia
    Chronic pancreatitis
    Crohn’s disease
    Elevated intraocular pressure
    Epilepsy
    Glaucoma
    Hepatitis C (currently receiving antiviral treatment)
    HIV/AIDS
    Lupus
    Moderate to severe vomiting
    Multiple Sclerosis
    Muscular Dystrophy
    Nausea
    Parkinson’s disease
    Persistent muscle spasms
    Seizures
    Severe pain (that has not responded to previously prescribed medication)
    Spinal cord injury or disease
    Traumatic brain injury
    Wasting syndrome
  •    PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS

    2 ounces of usable cannabis and any amount of unusable cannabis.

  •    HOME CULTIVATION

    No, medical marijuana is only aviable from three Alternative Treatment Centers statewide.

  •    STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES ALLOWED

    Yes but no more than 4 for the entire state.

  •    MEDICAL MARIJUANA STATUTESNH Controlled Drug Act
    RSA 126-X (HB 573)
    Therapeutic Cannabis Program Registry Rules
  •    CAREGIVERSYes

How to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire

How to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire (Adults)

  1. Visit the New Hampshire Department of Health And Human Services* website and review the Qualifying Patient Information Sheet* and Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* form.
  2. Have a physician or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) licensed in the state of New Hampshire complete the Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Form*. Once your healtcare provider returns the written certification to you, you will have 60 days from the date on the form to complete your application.
  3. Obtain a digital photgraph of your face, a passport photo is preferred (maximum 30 days old). See the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* for more details on file type and image requirements.
  4. Enclose a check or money order made payable to “Treasure, State of New Hampshire” in the amount of $50.
  5. You must be a resident of New Hampshire and submit proof of residency with your application. Originals are not required however the copies of the originals msut be legible. See the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* for a list of acceptable documents.
  6. Fill out the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* online, save it to your computer, print it and sign it.
  7. Assemble the completed packet consiting of:
    • Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* form
    • Written Certification (Step 2)
    • Your photo (Step 3)
    • Check or money order (Step 4)
    • Proof of residency (Step 5)
  8. Mail or hand deliver the completed packet to:NH Department of Health and Human Services
    Therapeutic Cannabis Program
    129 Pleasant Street, Brown Building
    Concord, NH 03301

How to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire (Minors)

  1. Visit the New Hampshire Department of Health And Human Services* website and review the Minor Qualifying Patient Information Sheet* and Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* form.
  2. The application must be completed by the minor’s custodial parent or legal guardian on behalf of the appllicant. The custodial parent or legal guardian must be approved by the Program as the minor’s Designated Caregiver or the application will not be approved. See Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Designated Caregiver* form for more information.
  3. Have two seperate healthcare providers, one MUST be a pediatrician, each complete seperate Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Form*. Once your healtcare providers return the written certifications to you, you will have 60 days from the date on the forms to complete your application.
  4. Obtain a digital photgraph of your face, a passport photo is preferred (maximum 30 days old). See the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* for more details on file type and image requirements.
  5. Enclose a check or money order made payable to “Treasure, State of New Hampshire” in the amount of $50.
  6. Your custodial parent or legal guardian must be a resident of New Hampshire and submit proof of residency with your application. Originals are not required however the copies of the originals msut be legible. See the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* for a list of acceptable documents.
  7. Fill out the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* online, save it to your computer, print it and sign it.
  8. Assemble the completed packet consiting of:
    • Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Qualifying Patient* form
    • Written Certifications (Step 3)
    • A photo (Step 4)
    • Check or money order (Step 5)
    • Proof of residency (Step 6)
  9. Mail or hand deliver the completed packet to:NH Department of Health and Human Services
    Therapeutic Cannabis Program
    129 Pleasant Street, Brown Building
    Concord, NH 03301

*Links to all the required paperwork can be found in our Forms and Resources section at the bottom of this page.

Home Cultivation of Marijuana and State Dispensaries in New Hampshire

Home cultivation is not allowed in New Hampshire, you can only obtain cannabis from three Alternative Treatment Centers (ATC) operating in four locations statewide. You will need to pick an ATC when you fill out your application and you will only purchase medical marijuan from that location unless you change it. To change your ATC you will need to fill out the Change of Information/Lost Card* and it will take up to 10 days to become effective. Here are the Alternative Treatment Centers:

  • Temescal Wellness, Inc., with dispensaries located in Dover and Lebanon
    367 Route 120
    Unit E-2
    Lebanon, NH 03766

    26 Crosby Road
    Units 11-12
    Dover, NH, 03820
    Email: info@temescalwellness.com
    Phone: (603) 285-9383
    Note: The Dover and Lebanon dispensaries are separate ATCs.
    Selecting one does not allow a Qualifying Patient to utilize the other location.

How to Become a Medical Marijuana Caregiver in New Hampshire

  1. Visit the New Hampshire Department of Health And Human Services* website and review the Designated Caregiver Information Sheet* and Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Designated Caregiver* form.
  2. Obtain a digital photgraph of your face, a passport photo is preferred (maximum 30 days old). See the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Designated Caregiver* for more details on file type and image requirements.
  3. Enclose a check or money order made payable to “Treasure, State of New Hampshire” in the amount of $50.
  4. For the initial application you will need to have the results of a criminal history records check released to the Program. See the Criminal History Record Authorization – Therapeutic Cannabis* form and Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Designated Caregiver* form for more information.
  5. For renewals a criminal records check is not required as long as your registration did not lapse. Simply submit a signed Designated Caregiver’s Attestation of Felony Conviction.
  6. Fill out the Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Designated Caregiver* online, save it to your computer, print it and sign it.
  7. Assemble the completed packet consiting of:
    • Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis – Designated Caregiver* form
    • Your photo (Step 2)
    • Check or money order (Step 3)
  8. Mail or hand deliver the completed packet to:NH Department of Health and Human Services
    Therapeutic Cannabis Program
    129 Pleasant Street, Brown Building
    Concord, NH 03301

*Links to all the required paperwork can be found in our Forms and Resources section at the bottom of this page.

New Hampshire

Status: Limited

Jason Duke
 

As a disabled veteran I have been through years of therapy and treatment and I have seen the toll prescription pain medications can take on you and your family. Now years later and an advocate for Medical Marijuana I'm the founder of MedicalMarijuanaHelp.com a website dedicated to providing accurate information on Medical Marijuana uses, the laws, and the strains. I'm a firm believer that marijuana can help millions of people and deserves its proper place in mainstream medicine.